Northbound By Foot

An Appalachian Thru Hike

8-27-11 She Said Yes

We were climbing down the knives edge when something hit me like a blinding realization. I looked at Charlotte and instantly knew that I wanted to marry her. I looked in my pocket and there was a ring so I gave to her and we lived happily ever after. Ok, in actuality I have been thinking about this moment since I first embarked on this adventure. From the day that I left Georgia I knew that I would ask her to marry me on top of my final climb. Asking her would be the easy part. The hard part was thinking about the moment everyday for the next 5 months and not being able to tell anyone. I was hiking with my brother everyday and didn’t even tell him until about a month ago.

Anyways, my mother brought me the ring to Maine and I stashed it away. As we climbed down the mountain we stopped to take a break when I gave Char a candy ring pop. She had mentioned that it would be nice to get engaged in Maine so I knew it was in the back of her mind. I said, “you wanted a ring, right?” So, she opened it, put it on, gave it a lick and said, “I say yes”. Then I asked her if she wanted a real ring as I proceeded to pull it from my pocket. Needless to say she did agreed to put herself in harms way and get married to me. Yeah, I know. What was she thinking? I then surprised her by having her parents waiting at the base of the mountain so that they could spend the weekend with us.

Sorry ladies. This guy is taken for good, but he is unbelievably happy and as always he’s Loving Life.

20110827-111206.jpg

11 Comments»

  The Judge wrote @

Congratulations! You guys make an aweosme team!

  dolores wrote @

YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a story!!!!!!! 🙂

  Rebecca wrote @

Awwww!! What a great proposal story!! Congrats on the engagement and finishing the trek! Mapes brothers rock!!

  Ashley C wrote @

Congrats!!!!!!

  Ali Hall wrote @

I am so happy for you guys!

  jmapes wrote @

Thanks so much. Can’t wait to see you guys

  Amy wrote @

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! I don’t know if you got my long-winded voicemail message, but the gist of it was I’m so happy for you both! What a fab picture of you Charlotte and given the circumstances, Jer & Derek, you look fab as well! I’m sure you are having a great time celebrating the many things you have to celebrate in spite of the challenging weather. Love to you all!

  Pernille wrote @

Yaaay!!! You did it!! Congratulations Jer, I’m soo happy for you. Hope to visit your country soon and hope to meet your sweet fiance :o)

  Carrie wrote @

CONGRATULATIONS!!!! TO EVERYONE!!! What an amazing end to one adventure and to the start of another one!

  rp wrote @

Congratulations guys, hopefully Irene gets out of the way for you all to come home.

  AngelsWings wrote @

Congratulations..my tears are streaming from watching the brothers journey and the amazing look in Charlottes face at Katahdin! I am in true amazement of how honest you were about the pain and and agony that you had to endure to reach the 2181 miles. Looking forward to walking on the same path beginning March 15th!!


Leave a comment