Northbound By Foot

An Appalachian Thru Hike

All Packed Up

It’s a bit weird to be typing blog posts again on my tiny phone screen. After three years away from my nightly ritual it’s become somewhat foreign. I almost feel as if I just fall asleep mid-post for old times sake.

We just got into Bangor Maine and are driving up to Monson. We made sure that we weighed our packs at the airport and here are the current stats:

Jeremiah: 20 lbs
Char: 23 lbs
Derek: 23 lbs
Liz: 17 lbs

We still have some shuffling around to do, but we should all be sitting around 20 lbs before water. Not too shabby I suppose. I am actually finishing up this post as we are getting into Monson, so here is a pic of us in our sweet digs.

20140726-071133-25893172.jpg

It is pretty cool being back at Shaws and seeing where we stayed in our last trail town. I tried to get Char and Liz to go put on some loaner clothes for the night but they weren’t having it. I guess you need to be a bit more desperate. You can definitely tell it is past hiker midnight here. Everyone is tucked in for the night. On that note it’s time for a couple beers and then sleep. Until tomorrow.

Loving Life

20140726-071321-26001262.jpg

3 Comments»

  Joey Biglin wrote @

Miss y’all. Hope you guys have a great time.

Joey B. Pay it forward!

>

  Marjie and Larry wrote @

Have tons of fun, so good to be reading your blogs again. Be safe and laugh a lot-know you will.

  George Jeff Boettner wrote @

Need to learn how to pack that light! Amazing.


Leave a comment